Coconut Flour Paleo Pancakes (w. Banana, If You Know What’s Up)

IMG_20170903_164727

I fell in love with a certain paleo hack quite a while back (seriously, a while ago — back when I still used Tumblr for this blog).  And, that hack was the paleo pancake.

The most common way to achieve pancake [sic], whilst sticking to your paleo guns, is to use coconut flour.  As a basic bitch, I do what is common.

There are loads of recipes out there for coconut flour pancakes.  But this one is mine, which I adapted from other people’s.  The tweaks I’ve made over time have yielded the best results for me.  Here it go.

Ingredients:

Yields about 8 pancakes.  I use a 1/4 cup measuring cup to ladle my pancakes into the skillet, to help keep the size consistent.

  • 6 eggs
  • 4 tbsp coconut oil
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup (room temperature)
  • 1/2 cup coconut milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1/2 to 3/4 cup coconut flour
  • 1/8 to 1/4 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
  • Grass-fed butter
  • 1 banana, sliced thinly

What you do:

  1. Preheat your skillet on medium.
  2. Mix your eggs, coconut oil, maple syrup, coconut milk and vanilla together.  You don’t want to over-mix this batter, so I recommend adding one wet ingredient at a time, mixing a little, and then adding the next ingredient.  (Note: FYI, I use light coconut milk, which is really just watered down coconut milk.  It works fine, but you may need to lean toward the higher end of the coconut flour amount, so your batter isn’t too runny.)
  3. Add the baking soda and salt.  Then, sift in the coconut flour, and stir it into the wet ingredients.  Again, do not over-mix this batter!  Fold in the shredded coconut.  If your batter seems too thin, add a little more coconut flour.
  4. Melt some butter in your pan.  I can’t tell you how much, because I don’t know how big your pan is.  Don’t ask me that.  Use your head.
  5. Ladle your batter into the pan (do NOT make your pancakes too big, because they are tricky to flip), and then lay the slices of banana on top of your pancakes, as you like.  Or, if you don’t care for banana, obviously, don’t do this bit.  Blueberries are really good with these, too.  Just so you know.
  6. These pancakes won’t bubble up like normal pancakes, so take a look at the edges to see if they start to look dry, and maybe slide your spatula underneath the pancake to check the color.  When it looks like it’s ready to flip, it probably is.  Again, these are not like old school pancakes, so they can fall apart and try to fuck with you.  You’ll get better at flipping these, the more you make them.
  7. They’re done when they look like they’re done.  I don’t know.  Like, 3 to 5 minutes per side, maybe?  Just look at it.  If it looks like a pancake, it’s probably done.  Since you’ve probably fucked up a few of the pancakes flipping them, eat those first to hide the evidence.
2 thoughts on “Coconut Flour Paleo Pancakes (w. Banana, If You Know What’s Up)

    • I always dislike when commenters say they’ll try a recipe and never report back. So, I made a batch today, though I changed quite a few things so it’s almost not the same recipe. Still, I found it looked and behaved like a regular pancake! I personally don’t really like paleo breads that taste too coconutty, so I added some brown sugar and cinnamon to mask that, but overall this pancake tasted good. The slight grainy mouthfeel is to be expected, as with most coconut flour recipes. I might process the dry ingredients or let the batter soak a while next time. My batter was thick (could be my alterations) so I had the opposite issue of having to thin it out. I’m going to reduce the flour next time to maybe 1/4 cup.

      10/10 would definitely make it again.

      For anyone who wants to know my changes: I used canola oil, 2% milk (about a cup), 4 tablespoons of brown sugar, and 3/4 teaspoons of cinnamon.

Leave a Reply

